Jessica Brandi Lifland's Photo Blog

visit my website: www.jessicalifland.com

2012 National Cowboy Poetry Gathering Images

with 10 comments

Photographs from the 28th Annual National Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Elko, Nevada.

The 2012 archives are up: Click Here for the gallery of photographer’s top picks.

If you are looking for performance images of a particular poet or  musician from 2012, contact me, the photographer at jess@jessicalifland.com.

For more posts including one about a ravioli workshop at the Gathering called “The Whole Ravioli with Chef Luc Gerber” written by me on the Western Folklife Center’s Blog: Click Here.

Saturday, February 4th:

Mike Beck and the Bohemian Saints out back before a performance.

Friday February 3rd:

Cowboy Poets Wally McRae and Brigid Reedy backstage before a performance.

Friday night dance with Hot Club of Cow Town

Thursday February 2nd:

Cowboy Poet Waddie Mitchell recites a new poem after receiving the Nevada Heritage Award for 2012.

Dalton Chambers. 9 from Elko, Nevada waits for his father before heading to the children’s talent show.

Cowboy Poet and Musician Andy Hedges with his 5 month old daughter Maggie Rose.

After John Reedy asks, Cowboy Poet Glenn Ohrlin shows his guitar to the Reedy family. John Reedy, far left and Brigid Reedy, center are also performers and have performed at the Gathering

Wednesday February 1st:

Backstage with Michael Martin Murphy before his show.

Around a campfire with musicians Rod Taylor and Don Richmond and others.

Written by Jessica Brandi Lifland

February 2, 2012 at 6:57 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great as usual Jessica!!! I am so missing not being there!!!! Linda Kirkpatrick

    Linda Kirkpatrick

    February 2, 2012 at 7:07 pm

  2. Great post, thanks for sharing!

    tbnranch

    February 5, 2012 at 9:58 am

  3. I have been watching your work from Nevada for years and think these are some of your finest! Keep up the great work!

    Brian Baer

    February 28, 2012 at 8:43 am

  4. absolutely beautiful, jess. second-to-last image is masterful. it took me a minute to figure out what it was, and then when i did, i thought, “hard to believe jess saw that image sober.”
    😉

    bonnie

    February 29, 2012 at 12:09 am

  5. Great images Jess and I would love to see more. The one of Vess Quinlan moves me so much – the best pic I have ever seen of him. You “got” him.

    Heather

    March 1, 2012 at 2:21 am

  6. […] Jessica Lifland Jessica Lifland’s blog from the 2012 Cowboy Poetry Gathering Photonite Share this:DiggFacebookRedditTwitterLike […]

  7. Stunning pix of the Gathering. I will never be able to attend, so these glimpses are very compelling. I am Heather Reedy’s gran’pa, and found your blog while trying to dig out a pic of my elusive son-in-law … he seems bashful about such things. I had never seen these “BRIGID” pix before … bittersweet … so happy to have found them, so sad that I am missing this time of her life.I probably can’t afford originals from you …
    the blog will have to do. God bless your gift and your sharing it with us who are less fortunate in our geography.

    Fred Kahrl

    May 31, 2012 at 7:59 am

  8. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and amusing,
    and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something too few folks are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I came across this in my hunt for something
    concerning this.

    celebrity diet

    July 20, 2013 at 8:41 am

  9. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll
    be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!


Leave a Reply

