Jessica Brandi Lifland's Photo Blog

visit my website: www.jessicalifland.com

Rockaway

leave a comment »

Images from my magazine project as part of my Master’s degree program in Visual Communication at Ohio University made in 1999. I keep thinking about what is happening there right now. I want to be able to witness and revisit Rockaway in t he aftermath of Hurricane Sandy.

Click here or on photo to view the slide show of images form 1999

The original opener text that accompanied this piece is as follows:

“Have you ever seen snow on sand? Rockaway is only a few miles west, along the very same beach, the southern-most stretch of Long Island, from where I grew up. So in a sense, I went home to do this story. The challenge was learning to see my own back yard with fresh eyes. I truly understand the Rockaway residents when they say the beach permeates their lives. That beach was a very important part of my childhood and has become embedded in my spirit. It’s where I’d go to do my best thinking. In fact…it’s just where I’d go. It was home. I suppose it still is, even more so than the house I grew up in or any other place I’ve ever lived.”

Written by Jessica Brandi Lifland

November 14, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Leave a Reply

