Jessica Brandi Lifland's Photo Blog

visit my website: www.jessicalifland.com

#vantagepoint

leave a comment »

OUTTAKES

Switching gears, I thought I’d drop in an outtake from a recent event shoot I was happy to be a part of. While shooting, I am always looking around for anything that catches my eye regardless of whether it has anything to do with the event at all.

As one mentor, Bryan Moss, put it to me, “Make Jessica Pictures.” I try to share that sage advice with my students at CCSF. This time I looked up and noticed the event was being watched over, quite literally by an angel peeking out over a black backdrop.  The event planners had set black drapes around the walls to create a more formal and intimate atmosphere on the inside of a hangar – the Innovation Hangar – at the Palace of Fine Arts. The angel was decidedly left out of the party, but could look in.

NCLR

I’m not much for technical conversation but I was asked to explain my shooting in a bit more technical detail. I am all about available light whenever possible. I had my 70-200 on my Nikon D4 body. I usually shoot in manual and did so here. ISO 1250, Shutter 1/200 and my aperture wide open at 2.8. I used Lightroom as I prefer to – for very minor post production – usually just to convert from raws to jpgs. Simple settings. Simple image.

I am in the market for a smaller lighter weight camera so I could do more of this type of shooting when not on assignment – something a step up from my iphone camera. I have been wavering between the Fuji and Sony Mirrorless models. Would love a chance to demo them. Advice welcomed.

The idea to to post a photo and discuss it as I am came as apart of the #VantagePoint project for the company, Light, who will be releasing their new compact camera later on this year! If you’re interested in seeing more photos from the Vantage Point project, check out their Pinterest board.

It seems to be not an “either/or” option with the Fuji or Sony mirrorless, but more like a fun “and” option.

I am curious. It looks like an iphone with a bunch of little lenses on it and they said, “It’s super lightweight but has awesome new technology … it’s a great option for travel pics!” – Would be happy to have a chance to demo it too.

Written by Jessica Brandi Lifland

May 26, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Leave a comment